North Peace Performing Arts Festival

March 2nd-16th


– Awards and Winners

To be eligible for an award, participants are required to have performed at least 2 selections within the same discipline.
Groups must perform 2 eligible Provincial solo classes in order to be recommended to the Provincial Festival.

 2018 Award Winners

Bev Kleinschroth Memorial – $1000 – Rourke Whalen
This award is given to a student who has exhibited a high standard of performance in two or more disciplines, at least one of which is at a senior standard. Students must apply for this award prior to Festival and the successful applicant will not be eligible for the award in future Festival years. The Peace River & District Teachers Association Perennial Award is presented with this scholarship.

Greg Corcoran Passion & Excellence Award – $300 – Kara Walisser
Greg Corcoran was a gifted artist who was well known for the many instruments he played. An outstanding vocalist, he was a long time member of Peace Players both on stage and in the orchestra pit, and played with various bands for community events. Greg also conducted award-winning junior high and high school bands, and mentored many students through private lessons. This award goes to a multifaceted performer who exemplifies a love of music, a zest for learning and a high standard of performance, in tribute to Greg’s spirit.

The Unsung Hero Award – $400 – Melanie Oslie
Terry Brunham was an integral part of the Festival Movement in Northern Alberta. Be it moving risers, attending sessions, or producing Sound at Grand Concert, Terry always quietly supported North Peace Performing Arts and Provincial Festivals. The Unsung Hero Award will be presented to a participant, or sibling of a participant, who supports his/her attitude with selfless qualities. Please help us recognize and thank them with this award by emailing their name to: Please include reasons why they deserve this award.

Peace River Rotary Music Camp – $500 – Samantha Popovitch
This award is presented to a deserving student to help offset the cost of tuition, room and board for a student who wishes to attend summer music camp. Martha Aurelia Elizabeth Vangrud resided in the Peace Country for 38 years, teaching in Dixonville, Brownvale, Grimshaw and Peace River. Her major was Language and Literature and many students will remember her Historic Sites and Sights classes, complete with interesting objects that she would gather from her travels to Japan, Egypt, Rome and Norway. Aurelia sponsored the Junior Speaking Award, which Adele Boucher continues to support, in her honour.


Joshua Whyburd – County of Northern Lights – Most Promising All Round Instrumentalist

Trophy and $100

Ruth Spencer – Fairview Music Teachers Most promising Adult – Trophy and $50



Bobby Dodds (Musical Theatre Comedy) – $100

Hannah Taplin

Brennan Family Award (Musical Theatre) – $100

Rourke Whalen

Don & Margot Weaver Award – $100

Peace of Harmony

Eckhart Band/Choral Award – $100

Peace River Community Choir

Go Auto Peace River Chrysler & Peace River Ford (Vocal Duet) – $100

Jocelyn and Elise Connellan

Keith & Shirley Anderson Junior Musical Theatre Award – $100

Elise Connellan

Kleinschroth Family Senior Musical Theatre Award – $150

Janna Taplin

Tim Horton’s (Intermediate) – $100

Sarah Kyle



Peace River School Division # 10 Chorus Award – $200

Peace of Harmony



Aurelia Vangrud Memorial Speech – JR – $50

Izzy Shewchuk

PeacePlayers (Senior) – $100

Polina Reisbig



Arthur and Helen Roy Memorial Strings Award – $50

M.E.S. Percussionists

Holy Family Catholic Regional Division #37 (Band Travel) – $200

G.P. Vanier Senior Band

Melody and Matt Taylor Instrumental Awards:

Small Ensemble or Chamber Group $50

Northern Lights Strings Ensemble

Strings – $50

Dean Irvine

Wind – $50

Clare Taylor

Mody Family Memorial Strings – $50

Sawyer Irvine



Flore Shaw Memorial Award (Junior Piano) – $50

Jackson Lee

James Bunn Memorial Scholarship – $250

Rourke Whalen

St. James ACW Frank Richardson Memorial (Duet) – $200

Ethan & Grant Collins



“Relaxations Massage Therapy for Women” Sacred Music Award- $50

Emma Clarke

Joseph Becher Sacred Music Award – $75

Luke Beinert

Marie Plaizier Sacred Music Award – $100

Nicole Beinert

Millership Family Music – $200

Irvine Family

North Peace Performing Arts Festival Team Award – $100

Izzy Shewchuk



Catholic Women’s League – $50

Megan Dechant

Catholic Women’s League – $50

Evan Lee

Cheryl Carruthers Award – $100

Lauren Bell

Dan & Helly Lacombe – $50

Autumn Rosendal

Dan & Helly Lacombe – $50

Noah Janzen

Dan Mody & Audrey Dewit – $50

Thomas Whyburd

Donnelly Machining & Fabricating – $100

Samantha Popovitch

George & Arlene Staicesku – $100

Jocelyn Connellan

Grant & Sally Barkwell – $100

Siara Popovitch

Kleinschroth Family Award $100

Sarah Kyle

Mike & Gloria Lovsin Award – $100

Sarah Kyle

Norman & Vivian St. Andre Award – $100

Diomiro & Deo Mapacpac

Peace River Senior Citizens – $50

Autumn Rosendal

Peace River Senior Citizens – $50

Rowan Irvine

Ralph & Pamela Schipholt – $50

Alyssa Biglow

Ralph & Pamela Schipholt – $50

Ethan Collins

Royal Canadian Legion #62 – $100

Rourke Whalen

Royal Canadian Legion #62 – $100

Joshua Whyburn

Triple R Farms Award – $50

Liam Collins